Member councils are collectively responsible for the management of over 165,000 kilometres of roads valued at more than $70 billion representing the single largest community asset in New South Wales.

Membership contributions are based on the size of Council. To ensure equity of contributions, Councils are placed into six Groups according to their Australian Local Government Classifications and each of the six Groups is levied with a contribution which is a proportion of the highest amount (payable by the largest Councils).

Membership to the Roads and Transport Directorate is open to every NSW Council, which is listed by IPWEA Region below.

For information on the membership and activities of the Roads and Transport Directorate or how your Council can become a member, please contact Arjan Rensen at or at 02 8267 3000.



List of Local Councils by IPWEA Region

Central West

Bathurst Regional Council
Blayney Shire Council
Cabonne Shire Council
Cowra Shire Council
Forbes Shire Council
Lachlan Shire Council
Lithgow City Council
Oberon Council
Orange City Council
Parkes Shire Council
Weddin Shire Council



Cessnock City Council
Dungog Shire Council
Central Coast Council
Lake Macquarie Council
Maitland City Council
Muswellbrook Shire Council
Port Stephens Council
Singleton Shire Council
Upper Hunter Shire Council
Newcastle City Council



Kiama Municipal Council
Shellharbour City Council
Shoalhaven City Council
Wollondilly Shire Council
Wollongong City Council
Wingecarribee Shire Council


Metro North

Ku-ring-gai Council
Northern Beaches Council
North Sydney Council
Ryde City Council
Lane Cove Council
Mosman Council
Hunter’s Hill Council
Hornsby Council
The Hills Shire Council
Willoughby City Council


Metro South

Bayside Council
Burwood Council
Canada Bay Council
Canterbury-Bankstown Council
Georges River Council
Inner West Council
Randwick City Council
Sutherland Shire Council
City of Sydney Council
Woollahra Municipal Council
Strathfield Municipal Council
Waverley Council


Metro West

Blacktown City Council
Campbelltown City Council 
City of Parramatta Council
Cumberland Council
Hawkesbury City Council
Liverpool City Council
Penrith City Council|
Blue Mountains City Council
Camden Council
Fairfield City Council


Mid North Coast

Bellingen Shire Council
Coffs Harbour City Council
Kempsey Shire Council
Nambucca Shire Council
Mid-Coast Council
Port Macquarie-Hastings Council


New England

Glen Innes Severn Council
Gunnedah Shire Council

Gwydir Shire Council
Inverell Shire Council
Liverpool Plains Shire Council
Moree Plains Shire Council
Narrabri Shire Council
Tamworth Regional Council
Tenterfield Shire Council
Uralla Shire Council
Walcha Shire Council


North Coast

Ballina Shire Council
Byron Shire Council
Clarence Valley Council
Kyogle Council
Lismore City Council
Richmond Valley Council
Tweed Shire Council
Armidale Regional Council



Bogan Shire Council
Bourke Shire Council
Brewarrina Shire Council
Broken Hill City Council
Central Darling Shire Council
Cobar Shire Council
Coonamble Shire Council
Dubbo Regional Council
Gilgandra Shire Council
Mid-Western Regional Council
Narromine Shire Council
Walgett Shire Council
Warren Shire Council
Warrumbungle Shire Council


South East

Bega Valley Shire Council
Eurobodalla Shire Council
Goulburn Mulwaree Council
Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
Snowy Monaro Regional Council
Upper Lachlan Council
Yass Valley Council


South West

Albury City Council
Balranald Shire Council
Berrigan Shire Council
Bland Shire Council
Carrathool Shire Council
Coolamon Shire Council
Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council
Edward River Council
Federation Council
Greater Hume Council
Griffith City Council
Hay Shire Council
Hilltops Council
Junee Shire Council
Leeton Shire Council
Lockhart Shire Council
Murray River Council
Murrumbidgee Council
Narrandera Shire Council
Snowy Valleys Council
Temora Shire Council
Wagga Wagga City Council
Wentworth Shire Council


If you are a member-council and would like information on how to access member-only content on this website, please contact your General Manager or Director of Engineering/Infrastructure Services.