Membership is open to all NSW Councils and contributions are based on the size of Council. To ensure equity of contributions, Councils are placed into six Groups according to their Australian Local Government Classifications and each of the six Groups is levied with a contribution which is a proportion of the highest amount (payable by the largest Councils).